Ireland, Day 7 and 8; Waterford County, Copper Coast

I spent two evenings in Waterford city at a bed and breakfast just across the river Suir and a 3 block stroll from the Plunkett train station. The place was called The Anchorage– and all in all it wasn’t bad considering the price; 25 euro a night. The walls were as thin as playing cards so I could hear all manner of ruckus but! A bed and a shower is a welcome relief from trekking.

Outskirts of Waterford; bound for Tramore

Outskirts of Waterford; bound for Tramore

As I left the city on the 14th, I walked…

Killbara trail heading South East from Waterford, towards Tramore

Killbara trail heading South East from Waterford, towards Tramore

I walked…IMGP1753 and damn did I walk.IMGP1761 From Waterford, I walked to a coastal town called Tramore.

Tramore is an interesting place in itself; there in the cove the tragic wreck of the Sea Horse took place during the era of the Napoleonic Wars in the mid 1800’s…

The memorial slab to all who parished in the wreck of the Sea Horse

The memorial slab to all who parished in the wreck of the Sea Horse

and subsequently a giant metal man, Admiral Wolseley, was constructed atop a cluster of 3 towers on the southern point of the cove. He points to the harbor and out to the sea, warning all sailors of the danger- no safe harbor here! (I find him to have a striking similarity to Elvis)

Ahoy, brothers!

Ahoy, brothers!

As I was walking down the dusty road with my rucksack in search of this pointing, swaggering, admiral elvis, I came to a point where I figured the towers would be.  they were located on the edge of the cliffs and on private property. A man who appeared from his shed with a length of fishing net he was mending looked at me as I was passing and I took the opportunity to ask him how I could gain access to the towers. It was his property, and when I asked he responded, “Off you go then, boy.” With not much more than that he told me to hop over the fences, get into the pasture, hang a right and there it’ll be.


Legend and folklore say that on stormy nights the metal man can be heard chanting, “Keep out good ship, keep out from me, For I am the rock of misery”. Another interesting legend states that if a women is to skip around the tower 3 times on one leg she will be married that year. I was charmed and though lady I am not, skip and hop around it I did!
Well more walking was in store for me and I trekked 3 miles to the main road and put a thumb out in the direction of Dungarvan. A nice man picked me up in his caravan. He had a beautiful and large family of two girls and baby son named Killian- he was good enough to bring me to the township of Bunmahon where we talked on the beach and enjoyed the salty breeze; the children were digging in the sand with shovels and their pales.

Bunmahon, County Waterford; The Copper Coast

Bunmahon, County Waterford; The Copper Coast

I dashed off to the other side of the parking lot as I saw a camper and bid adieu to a new friend. I inquired if, she, the driver was heading towards Dungarvan; she was heading towards Ballystrand instead. I went along with her and she decided to take me past Ballystrand and 30km down to Dungarvan and to my ultimate destination of Ring. I had it in my head to visit the grave of another hero, Liam Clancy of the Clancy Brothers.

She and I were kindred spirits and huge fans of Celtic folk, reels and jigs-after the end of the trip she asked if i’d like to spend the evening with her and her boyfriend at their house and I readily accepted the invitation. We had a legend of a night with Guinness an authentic Turf fire (peat) and live music.

My host Marilla with her Bodhrán and guiness; at the pub

My host Marilla with her Bodhrán and guiness; at the pub

Next stop Cork- see you soon, folks!

Drop me a line!

