Anthony Burgess, A Clock Work Orange, Review

The language the author uses is fresh, creative and as absurd as it appears, it makes sense enough. After reading Anthony Burgess novel, I found myself thinking aloud such droog, “Nadsat” vernacular as, itty (to go) and viddy (to see)and I even had to stop myself at a diner from using the word, “eggiweg” for an order of eggs. The words are catchy and creative hence my higher rating of the book.
As far as plot goes, it is interesting but it is shallow and doesn’t provide the depth some may be looking for. For example, the characters are a bit two dimensional, exaggerated and cartoonish. See for example, the whiskey sluggin’ clergy man of the prison, the over zealous, corporal punishment singin’ warden. More also, the action is flamboyant, grotesque and over-the-top. Aditionally, the future Burgess details comes across as stale. In my modern setting, I read the descriptons of record players and projector screens as something of a 70’s era technique thus antiquated and unbelievable too- As if the future could itself be retrograding- I suppose dystopic would be appropriate but it just misses a beat.
However, all this being said, I don’t  wan’t you to get the wrong impression: it is a fun read that simply misses some more of the satisfying elements that are found in a well rounded plot, developed characters and an evenly built up suspense and drama.
Now, that being said, I did appreciate the novel for what it offered. Flash, sizzle and sharp, comical wit.

Image

Drop me a line!

