Harbinger of Despair

 I’ve puzzled over,

And have not ceased,

The wonderment of you-

How is it your right to love me,

Then leave me,

In a way befitting a thief;

To have honourably dueled,

Then mercilessly slaughtered?

As if to write a note,

On the night stand,

And slip away ‘fore,

the morning sun:

Dear Lover,

I have another,

And care to tell you naught,

For all the joy and satisfaction you have known,

was on only marginally stirred,

In me!

Revel in misery

Rake hot coals,

The warmth you’ve had,

Rests with another,

Go away,

Be off and settle alone.

Oh, wicked thing,

Cruel harbinger of despair!

Kick off my crown,

Smear mud on my face,

bruise my lips,

and cut my tongue-

All these things,

For Christ sake,

Cannot be undone.

By leaving me in the dark,

That is your absence of you,

I’ve fallen and pierced myself through,

With a sword deigned,

for those unworthy of you;

Look now how it has turned,

And in my breast.

Tell me that it’s alright.

And kneel by myside .

Pull out the sword-

Cut off my head!

And I could expire from your life,

With decency.

T’would be better,

To die with you in my eyes,

Than to languish among,

Cold, wet stone,

ebbing away lonesome…

But lowly,

and with my dying breath,

It was you I loved the best.”

 

Drop me a line!

