Dublin, Ireland: Day 2, Hunger Strikes and Cemeteries

DAY 2: Today, I managed to blunder a whole day with only visiting one point on my itinerary. The problem wasn’t that I woke up late, on the contrary, I was bright eyed at 8am after 12 hours of sleep. The problem was, I hadn’t charged my sodding camera. I sat in the lobby and beat out some work on the laptop for 3 hours waiting for the thing to charge. When I hit the road it was almost midday and when I finally figured out how to get and finally got to Glasnevin Cemetery, it was just about 1 o’clock. However, lets not get into details about petty things.

Connolly Commemoration Poster

Connolly Commemoration Poster

 

On my way I discovered many things: a poster of James Connolly , a Republican, Irish teacher whose ethics and morality raised the hopes of a nation. His participation in Easter Rising 1916 is a legendary historical moment for Irish people. This poster announces a commemoration to be held on the 12th. I also saw, a politically right wing propaganda poster plastered on a dirty window, a pub called, The Auld Triangle with a mural commemorating the 1981 Irish Hunger Strikes, and a statue commemorating the soldiers of C company who fell in the Easter Rising of 1916. 

 

How anyone could say Dubliners are contented with current events and the state of Free Ireland is beyond me; the historical struggle and thoughts of the people are represented in every corner of this noble, working class city. 

Across from the main necropolis of Glasnevin is St. Pauls, which is a sister graveyard. I found who I was looking for there and stood a moment in silence, reliving his voice through a song I was humming; he is a Dubliner and a famous musician by name of Luke Kelly  Luke repainted old Irish and Scottish folk tunes during the revival period of the 60’s and 70’s with the iconic band, The Dubliners.  
I crossed once more over the street to the main campus and waited for an official tour of the grounds of Glasnevin. The sky was brooding. As soon as the tour began and we made our way to the the graveside of Jeremiah O’Donovan Rossa. The storm clouds let loose. As it happened there came an actor reanimated as Padraig Pearse to give the famed graveside oration. I would love to bother you all about it but I won’t. I’ll leave you to look at it yourself (
Patrick Pearse’s Graveside Panegyric for O’Donovan Rossa)and simply end by saying that the way the actor stood and suffered the buffet of wind and downpour of rain made his performance chilling. We saw too, the graves of Eamon de Valera, one of the leaders of the 1916 Dublin uprisingAnne Devlin; Robert Emmets faithful soldier that torture and the sight of Emmets blood all over the rack could not make her mouth divulge, The republican poet and the wittful Brendan Behan, The heroine Countess Markievicz, the fated Roger Casement and many others who fought for the liberty of Ireland and injustices perpetrated against her sovereignty. It was still pissing buckets all over the tour group and myself.

A hungry feeling Came o’er me stealing And the mice were squealing In my prison cell And that auld triangle went jingle-jangle All along the banks of the royal canal.” –Brendan Behan, The Auld Triangle.

Myself by the side of Brendan Behan the author, poet, critic and rebel

Myself by the side of Brendan Behan the author, poet, critic and rebel

Drop me a line!

